seniors retirement planning tools logo
seniors couple 1 enjoying life after retirement seniors woman senior couple 2
   Simplify life ... eliminate hassles ... get the most out of retirement
Within the US federal guidelines for Medicaid, there are 25 separate categories available all depending on the eligibility of an individual or family.

Medicaid is the health care program in the United States for eligible individuals and families with low income and resources. There are various factors considered when evaluating someone for this program and is limited to people who fall within these categories. The eligibility categories for Medicaid range from children to adults under the age of 65 and non-disabled. Many times, the categories overlap and allow someone to qualify under more categories.

Requirements for Medicaid

Even though many people are covered under Medicaid, there are certain requirements. They may include age, pregnancy, blind, disabled, age, resources, income and citizenship. Resources can include banking accounts, property or other items that could be sold for cash. The guidelines for counting income and resources if different in every state and vary for every group. There are rules just for those who live in a nursing home and for disabled children.

What Are the Different Eligibility Categories For Medicaid

In general, there are five basic categories for Medicaid coverage eligibility. They include: children, pregnant women, adults living with families who have dependent children, disabled and elderly. Within the groups of people who are served by Medicaid are resident aliens and particular US citizens. This includes low-income adults and their dependents and people with some disabilities.

State requirements for Medicaid

There are some states that choose to cover other categories, including:

1. Infants under the age of 1 and pregnant women who are not covered above and their income falls below 185% of guidelines for federal poverty.

2. Some disabled, blind or aged adults with income that is below poverty guidelines.

3. Those recipients who receive state welfare.

4. Individuals who are institutionalized.